#### **EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL**

#### Meeting held on Thursday, 4th June, 2020 at 10.00 am

**Present:** Councillor Andy Meakin in the Chair;

Councillors John Baird, Chris Baron,

Kier Barsby, Jim Blagden, Christian Chapman,

Ciaran Brown, Melanie Darrington, Samantha Deakin, Andy Gascoyne,

Dale Grounds, Arnie Hankin, Andrew Harding, David Hennigan, Tom Hollis, Trevor Locke,

Rachel Madden, Sarah Madigan,

Lauren Mitchell, Keir Morrison, Warren Nuttall, Matthew Relf, Kevin Rostance, Phil Rostance, Dave Shaw, John Smallridge, Helen-Ann Smith, David Walters. Lee Waters. Caroline Wilkinson.

Daniel Williamson, John Wilmott and

Jason Zadrozny.

Apology for Absence: Councillor David Martin.

Officers Present: Bev Bull, Lynn Cain, Carol Cooper-Smith,

Ruth Dennis, Mike Joy and Andy Slate.

## C.17 <u>Minute's Silence for Alan Cordin</u>

The Council observed a minute's silence in respect of Alan Cordin, a former employee of the Council, colleague and friend.

# C.18 <u>Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary or Personal Interest</u> and Non Disclosable Pecuniary/Other Interests

No declarations of interest were made.

## C.19 Leader of the Council Updates

The Leader of the Council spoke with regard to the following:

#### Funeral Cortège for Alan Cordin

The funeral cortege for Alan Cordin had paused outside the Council offices on 1<sup>st</sup> June to enable many of Alan's colleagues and friends to pay their respects to him. A heartfelt tribute was made in respect of Alan's dedication to the Council and its communities whilst undertaking his role as a Community Protection Officer.

## 'Black Lives Matter' Campaign

In light of recent events in America regarding the tragic death of George Floyd, a statement of support from the Council was given to the 'Black Lives Matter' campaign with supporting comments.

#### Covid-19 Update

A reminder as to the current guidelines for staying alert and safe during the Covid-19 outbreak and the continued efforts of the Council and all its committed employees and volunteers, to deliver essential services to the District whilst navigating the new recovery phase of the Covid-19 lockdown.

## C.20 Political Balance and Committee Changes

Council was requested to consider the consequential impact of political proportionality on seats on the Council's Committees for the remainder of the 2020/21 local government year, following Councillors Melanie Darrington and David Hennigan now serving as non-aligned independent Members.

#### RESOLVED that

- a) the reduction by 5 seats of the number of places allocated to the Ashfield Independent Group on those Council Committees, subject to political proportionality, be noted;
- the allocation of 5 seats to the two non-aligned Independent Members on those Council Committees, subject to political proportionality, be also noted:
- c) it be confirmed that the two non-aligned Independent Members, Councillors Melanie Darrington and David Hennigan, will share between them the seat allocations on the following Committees:
  - Licensing Committee
  - Standards and Personnel Appeals Committee
  - Scrutiny Panel A
  - Scrutiny Panel B
  - Charities Committee.
- d) it be noted that the Council will continue to carry a vacancy following the regulations set out in the Coronavirus Act 2020, which postpones any elections or by-elections until 6 May 2021;
- e) the proposed changes to committee memberships and appointments to Chairman and Vice Chairman seats, as presented, be approved as follows:-

## Overview and Scrutiny Committee (7)

## (6 Ashfield Independents, 1 Conservative)

Jim Blagden

Dale Grounds (Vice Chairman)

Andrew Harding (Chairman)

Phil Rostance

**David Walters** 

Lee Waters

Caroline Wilkinson

#### Scrutiny Panel A (7)

# (5 Ashfield Independents, 1 Labour, 1 Non-Aligned Independent)

David Hennigan

Trevor Locke

Lauren Mitchell

Warren Nuttall

Dave Shaw (Chairman)

John Smallridge (Vice Chairman)

**David Walters** 

### Scrutiny Panel B (7)

## (5 Ashfield Independents, 1 Conservative, 1 Non-Aligned Independent)

Jim Blagden (Vice Chair)

Ciaran Brown

Christian Chapman (Chairman)

Melanie Darrington

Dale Grounds

Phil Rostance

**David Walters** 

#### Planning Committee (11)

### (9 Ashfield Independents, 1 Conservative, 1 Labour)

Chris Baron

Ciaran Brown (Vice Chairman)

Samantha Deakin

Tom Hollis

Rachel Madden

Sarah Madigan (Chairman)

Lauren Mitchell

John Smallridge

Helen-Ann Smith

Daniel Williamson

Jason Zadrozny

## <u>Licensing Committee (11)</u>

## (9 Ashfield Independents, 1 Labour, 1 Non Aligned Independent)

Keir Barsby

Jim Blagden

Melanie Darrington

Dale Grounds

Arnie Hankin

**Trevor Locke** 

Rachel Madden

Lauren Mitchell

Warren Nuttall (Chairman)

Caroline Wilkinson

John Wilmott

#### Audit Committee (7)

# (6 Ashfield Independents, 1 Conservative)

John Baird

Jim Blagden

Christian Chapman

Arnie Hankin

Kevin Rostance

Dave Shaw

David Walters (Chairman)

#### Charities Committee (7)

## (5 Ashfield Independents, 1 Labour, 1 Non-Aligned Independent)

Jim Blagden

Melanie Darrington

Dale Grounds

Lauren Mitchell

**David Shaw** 

**David Walters** 

Caroline Wilkinson (Chairman)

### Chief Officers' Employment Committee (7)

## (6 Ashfield Independents, 1 Conservative)

Chris Baron

Tom Hollis

**David Shaw** 

Helen-Ann Smith

**David Walters** 

Daniel Williamson

Jason Zadrozny (Chairman)

## Standards and Personnel Appeals Committee (7)

(5 Ashfield Independents, 1 Conservative, 1 Non-Aligned Independent)

Jim Blagden

Christian Chapman

David Hennigan

Warren Nuttall

Phil Rostance

Helen Ann-Smith

Lee Waters (Chairman)

#### Local Plan Working Group (11)

(9 Ashfield Independents, 1 Conservative, 1 Labour)

Keir Barsby

Samantha Deakin

Tom Hollis

Rachel Madden (Chairman)

**David Martin** 

Keir Morrison

Matthew Relf

Kevin Rostance

Helen-Ann Smith

Daniel Williamson

Jason Zadrozny

### Local Joint Consultative Committee (7)

(Not subject to political balance rules)

Samantha Deakin

Tom Hollis

**David Martin** 

Matthew Relf

Helen-Ann Smith

Daniel Williamson

Jason Zadrozny

# C.21 Recommendation from the Chief Officers' Employment Committee to Council

Council considered the following recommendations:-

#### Minute No. CO.3

Chief Officers' Employment Committee – 3 June 2020
Update in Respect of the Recruitment to the Position of Head of Paid
Service/Chief Executive including Interim Arrangements

#### **RESOLVED**

that the extension of the appointment of Carol Cooper-Smith as Head of Paid Service up to 31 July 2021, be approved.

## C.22 <u>Interim Review of Polling Places and Names of Electoral Areas</u>

Council was requested to consider a proposal and timetable for carrying out an interim review of polling places and to commence the process for considering changes to the names of wards in Ashfield.

#### **RESOLVED** that

- a) the establishment of a Polling Place Review and Ward Name Working Group, with terms of reference as outlined in the report, be approved;
- b) it be agreed that the Working Group consists of 6 Members in accordance with political balance; 4 Ashfield Independent Members, 1 Conservative Member and 1 Labour Member;
- c) the following Members be appointed to the Working Group:
  - Christian Chapman
  - Lauren Mitchell
  - Kevin Rostance
  - Helen-Ann Smith
  - Lee Waters
  - Jason Zadrozny (Chairman)
- d) the timetable for the review, as outlined in the report, be approved.

The meeting closed at 10.40 am

Chairman.